I Like Formula E but It is Weird

 Formula E is weird. I like watching it but I just think it is the weirdest form of motorsport to ever exist. There is one area where it deserves high praise it has existed for 7 seasons and not a single driver has ever lost their life at one of the events they have run.

I like the idea of an electric racing series and it will certainly help to build up technology for road cars. After reading some of the technical regulations for the third generation car I am very excited about the idea of a fast charger for both the racing series and road cars. 

This racing series has the second most gimmicks of any series on the planet, trailing only NASCAR in that regard. There are some of them that I like and some I think are just silly.

I don’t like the idea of a timed race. I think all racing series that are not endurance races should be contested for a set number of laps. Indianapolis and Daytona are both known for their 500 miles races and have taken various different amounts of time to complete. 

I think fan boost is just stupid. The idea of fans having the ability to affect the outcome of a competitive sporting event does not sit well with me. Everyone was angry with the Cubs fan that cost them a trip to the world series in 2004 and now the FIA encourages fans to affect the outcome of a race. This could have consequences beyond the world of motor racing and encourage fans to do things such as run onto the field to disrupt a play in a game. That could at best cause a play to be run wrong and at worst get someone killed. 

I do not have an issue with attack mode. I actually think it is a great idea because everyone has to use it and the drivers get the opportunity to use it whenever they choose. This unlike DRS in the other Formula makes it more fair. DRS is certainly not fair, but neither is dirty air affecting someone’s race in the way things have over the last several decades. 

I enjoy watching Formula E and this is just some of the thoughts I have had over the course of the last 15 rounds of season 7. Congratulations to Mercedes EQ and Nick De Vries on winning the very first world championships in this series. If next season is as strange as this one it will certainly be exciting.


Comments